top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmanda Rolon Gonzalez

Behind the Song: Still Small Voice

On February 20, 2018 I sat at my keyboard and began to sing lyrics and melody that almost seemed to write themselves. I quickly recorded myself singing the hook and, after much internal debate, decided to post the pitchy 40 second video on Instagram. Six months later I received a direct message from a producer who saw something in that video, which I had already forgotten about. And so, the process began.




"Still Small Voice," is heavily inspired by 1 Kings 19 where Elijah is led by God to a mountain top. Here Elijah encounters a mighty gust of wind, an earthquake and even a fire yet, they are empty in themselves. Following these encounters came a"gentle whisper," or a still small voice, and in THAT voice he found God! Personally, I expected things to go the other way around. Like, BIG things are GOD things and mundane moments don't matter... right? Yet, often the opposite is true.


During the process of recording Still Small Voice, a song about "faith over feelings," I ironically faced much hesitation and unbelief, especially when it came to my own potential. Opportunely enough, through the lyrics every studio session was a quiet yet consistent reminder to keep going. "I've made up my mind, Im believing." Fast forward to the very special release date of my debut single: I received numerous messages from listeners who felt profoundly impacted and encouraged by the message behind the song. I think we did okay!

So, maybe you're reading this and there's that dream you can't stop thinking about. Well then, let this be your sign: It's time you decide to believe. You never know who's waiting on it!


Amanda


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page